Category Archives: ISS

Spacewalk Tomorrow


This is the second of a pair of spacewalks (the first was 28 Oct).  The spacewalks will facilitate station upgrades and maintenance tasks, including installing a thermal cover on the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer, which is a state-of-the-art particle physics detector that has been attached to the station since 2011.

The spacewalk on Nov. 6 is the 33rd U.S. spacewalk, and will attempt to restore the port truss ammonia cooling system to its original configuration. A spacewalk conducted in November 2012 tried to isolate a leak in the truss’ cooling supply, but the leak was subsequently traced to a different component. NASA TV coverage will begin at 5:45 a.m., with the spacewalk scheduled to begin at 7:10 a.m.

There will be a video link posted here before the spacewalk.

JAXA Docking Replay

In case you missed the docking of JAXA’s ““Kounotori” H-II Transfer Vehicle (HTV-5)” on Monday

The Japanese Aerospace Exploration Agency’s (JAXA) “Kounotori” H-II Transfer Vehicle (HTV-5) arrived at the International Space Station on 24 Aug.

“Kounotori” was launched on 19 August from the Tanegashima Space Center in southern Japan.


Progress 58 Leaves ISS

If all goes well the cargo ship Progress 58 will leave the International Space Station this morning at 10:19 UTC (06:19 EDT).

The Progress 58 will undock from the Zvezda Service Module and after several hours will be deorbited by Russian controllers. Shortly after the deorbit Progress 58 will interface with the atmosphere and burn up over the Pacific Ocean.

NASA will initiate television coverage at 10:00 UTC / 6:00 EDT.

Streaming video can be found at NASA TV and hopefully here:

Broadcast live streaming video on Ustream