Category Archives: Launch / Landing

Splashdown for Dragon

splashdowndragon

Very nice job on the round trip SpaceX!

From SpaceX:

Dragon successfully splashed down at 11:31 am PT in the Pacific Ocean, completing the Commercial Resupply Services 8 (CRS 8) mission which began with the liftoff of Falcon 9 and Dragon back on April 8th. Dragon delivered nearly 7,000 lbs of cargo and returned more than 3,700 lbs of cargo, including 1,300 lbs of science. Dragon is the only operational spacecraft capable of both delivering and returning significant amounts of cargo to and from the International Space Station.

SpaceX Launch Replay

This is the long version.

You may also remember SpaceX is landed the rocket on a ship in April. This time they attempted it again:

Elon Musk “Rocket reentry is a lot faster and hotter than last time, so odds of making it are maybe even, but we should learn a lot either way”.

The attempt was a success! A reusable rocket is reality.

Ready for Launch

sentinel1b

The Sentinel-1B is shown here being placed in a fairing in preparation for launch tomorrow 22 April 2016.

Sentinel-1B will join Sentinel-1 providing radar images of Earth for Europe’s Copernicus environmental monitoring program.

Launch Date: 22 April 2016
Launch Location: French Guiana
Launch Time: 21:02 GMT / 23:02 CEST / 17:02 EDT
Live Coverage: YES via ESA – coverage starts at: 20:10 GMT / 22:10 CEST / 16:10 EDT.

Progress Cargo Ship Launch

The Russian cargo ship Progress 63P the second of three supply flights to resupply the International Space Station in just a few weeks is set to launch.

Launch of the spacecraft carrying three tons of food, fuel and supplies for the Expedition 47 crew is scheduled for 16:23 UTC / 12:23 p.m. EDT (10:23 p.m. Baikonur time) on Thursday, March 31, from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan.

The launch can be see here with coverage starting a 16:00 UTC / 12 noon EDT.