Category Archives: Launch / Landing

Space X Launch

spacexfeb24

UPDATE: Scrubbed for 24 hours

Space X (hopefully) will be launching the SES-9 communications satellite into orbit at 23:46 UTC / 18:46 EST tonight (24  Feb 2016) with an opening of a 90-minute launch window.

The SES-9 SES-9 will provide expansion and replacement capacity to serve the video, enterprise, mobility and government sectors in fast-growing markets across Northeast Asia, South Asia and Indonesia. The additional capacity on SES-9 will enable direct-to-home operators to broadcast more local content and increase their SD and HDTV channel line-up to 22 million households across Asia-Pacific, in markets such as India, Indonesia, and the Philippines.

Here is a link to the Space X webcast page.

Image: The Falcon sits on the pad ready to launch the SES-9 satellite into orbit from Space X

JAXA to Launch ASTRO-H

Here is a launch replay – hint start watching at 18 minutes in.

JAXA will broadcast the launch of the newest space telescope ASTRO-H aboard H-IIA Launch Vehicle No. 30 from the Tanegashima Space Center through the Internet. The report will cover launch events from the liftoff to the payload separation from the launch vehicle.

JAXA site

Video: JAXA

ISRO Satellite Launch

ISRO PSLV-C31 launched the fifth satellite of the Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System IRNSS-1E from Sriharikota on 19 January 2016 at 09:30 local time.  This  was the 33rd flight of PSLV launch vehicle. IRNSS-1E is the fifth navigation satellite in the IRNSS space system, comprising seven satellites.

Video

NASA Jason 3 Launch

Watch the SpaceX launch of Jason 3 scheduled for 18:42 UTC / 13:42 EST / 10:42 PST.

The launch of Jason-3, an international mission led by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration to continue U.S.- European satellite measurements of the topography of the ocean surfaces, is scheduled for launch from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California on Sunday, Jan. 17, 2016. Liftoff aboard a SpaceX Falcon 9 rocket from Vandenberg’s Space Launch Complex 4 East is targeted for 10:42:18 a.m. PST (1:42:18 p.m. EST) at the opening of a 30-second launch window. If needed, a backup launch opportunity is available on the Western Range on Jan. 18 at 10:31:04 a.m. PST (1:31:04 p.m. EST).

Jason-3 will maintain the ability to monitor and precisely measure global sea surface heights, monitor the intensification of tropical cyclones and support seasonal and coastal forecasts. Data from Jason-3 will support scientific, commercial and practical applications related to ocean circulation and climate change. Additionally, Jason-3 data will be applied to fisheries management, marine industries and research into human impacts on the world’s oceans.

The mission is planned to last at least three years with a goal of five years.

Jason-3 is a four-agency international partnership consisting of NOAA, NASA, the French Space Agency CNES (Centre National d’Etudes Spatiales), and EUMETSAT (the European Organization for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites). Thales Alenia of France built the spacecraft.

NOAA in collaboration with the international European partners is responsible for the Jason-3 mission. JPL is responsible for NASA Jason-3 project management. NASA’s Launch Services Program at the agency’s Kennedy Space Center in Florida provides launch management. SpaceX of Hawthorne, California, is NASA’s launch service provider of the Falcon 9 rocket.

Replays

There was a launch earlier of a cargo ship bound for the International Space Station:

and there was a EVA from the International Space Station here is a bit of the video:

I tried to post live links but technical problems made that impossible.