Category Archives: SpaceX

Space X to Launch – Again

SpaceX will attempt another launch TODAY (25 June) at 20:25 UTC / 16:25 EDT / 13:25 PDT. This launch is an Iridium-2 satellite from Vandenberg Air Force Base in California.

A backup launch date is tomorrow (26 June) at 20:19 UTC / 16:19 EDT / 13:19 PDT.

Come back for a live link to be up at 20:00 UTC / 16:00 EDT / 13:00 PDT.

Space X Replay – BulgariaSat 1

Fast forward to 16 minutes for the launch (16:25)
Good luck!

NOTE: Apparently the time listed here (and by Space X) do now match up with the the stated start of the live stream if you click on the video above.

Looks to be 19:10 UTC or 15:10 EDT. Ah, I just check the SpaceX site and it does say 19:10 UTC, must be the graphic and not updated.

Update 2: The one hour delay was for additional system checks.

GREAT LAUNCH!!!!

YES! GREAT LANDING OF THE 1st stage, will they reuse it a second time?

I’ll put a replay here when it is available.

SpaceX CRS-11 Launch – REPLAY

Excellent! The landing was spectacular!

Earlier:

Today’s launch is the second attempt at launch, the first scrubbed due to weather.

Launch Date/Time: 03 June at 21:07 UTC / 17:07 ET.

Alternate dates: 04 June at 21:07 UTC / 17:07 ET (identical to today’s window)

Historical note: This will be the 100th launch from Kennedy’s LC-39A.

Dragon will separate from the Falcon 9 rocket after 10 minutes of flight. The Falcon 9 will then attempt a landing at the SpaceX Landing Zone (LZ-1) at Cape Canaveral.

If all goes according to plan the Dragon cargo ship will still dock with the International Space Station on 04 June.

SpaceX CRS-11 Launch – SCRUBBED

Today’s launch was scrubbed due to weather so now we go to the back up date:

Launch Date/Time: 03 June at 21:07 UTC / 17:07 ET.

Alternate dates:
Historical note: This will be the 100th launch from Kennedy’s LC-39A.

Dragon will separate from the Falcon 9 rocket after 10 minutes of flight. The Falcon 9 will then attempt a landing at the SpaceX Landing Zone (LZ-1) at Cape Canaveral.

If all goes according to plan the Dragon cargo ship will dock with the International Space Station on 04 June.

Brush Fire Near Launch Pad 39A

In advance of the Space-X launch tomorrow  there was a “hold-down” test at Launch Pad 39A.   The “hold-down” test is a rehearsal for the launch to ensure the fueling and countdown procedures are all set before the actual launch.

The Falcon 9 rocket assembly consisting of nine Merlin 1D engines was fired for more than three seconds.  After the test fire crews were called to the scene and the four-acre fire was quelled by numerous helicopter water dumps.

The test is customary and apparently all is ready for the launch which you can seehere tomorrow.  Launch time is 21:55 UTC / 17:55 ET.

Space X Launches Inmarsat-5

The launch of the Inmarsat-5 from Kennedy Space Center Launch Complex 39A (LC-39A). LC-39A saw many of the Apollo missions and eventually Apollo 11. After Apollo LC-39A was used for the Shuttle program and now the site is being used by Space X and after much modification Space X can support launches of both commercial and crew missions on SpaceX’s Falcon 9 and Falcon Heavy launch vehicles.

This is the fourth of the Inmarsat-5 spacecraft in the Global Xpress (GX) constellation. Inmarsat, the only operator of a global Ka-band network, created the GX platform to enable communities across the world to benefit from the emerging digital society.

Because of mission requirements there was no attempt to land the Falcon 9 rocket. is about 9-minutes into the video.

Space X Launch

Yesterday there was a issue with a first-state temperature sensor and the mission was put on hold with just 52 seconds left on the launch clock.

Today (01 May) Space X is launching a satellite from Pad 39-A at Kennedy Space Center. Coverage starts at 11:00 UTC/0700 ET.

The landing of the first stage should be covered in this webcast — good luck Space X!

Hosted Space X Launch Replay

Here is the SES-10 Hosted Webcast from of the historic flight by Space X. Being “out of town” most of the week, I barely got to see the launch. The hosted webcasts usually provide a good bit of information and this one is no exception:

The post yesterday never published. I had it in a queue but I made a mess of it and, well, nothing happened – my apologies.

The Dragon Departs

Here is a replay of the Space X Dragon cargo ship departing the International Space Station. The cargo ship was released at about 05:11 EDT / 09:11 UTC (if my time conversion is correct).

The Dragon will NOT burn up in the atmosphere as some ships do. The returning 5,400 + Lb / 2,450 + kg payload includes samples from a variety of scientific experiments.

The thrusters on Dragon will fire at around 10:00 EDT / 14:00 UTC commencing a deorbit burn which will send the ship into the Pacific Ocean 54 minutes later where it will be retrieved and returned by recovery teams.

As far as I know there will be no live coverage of the splashdown and recovery, however there could be video after the fact.