Astronomy News

Iridium 1 Launch on Space X Falcon

Live event starts at 12:54 ET / 17:54 UTC, since this is the launch window opening time it is a little unclear how long between the start of the event time and launch.

WOW!!!!!!!  FANTASTIC!!!!!! If you missed this fantastic launch, I will have a replay posted tomorrow, simply amazing, we got to watch not just the launch but the First-stage successfully land on the barge!

From Space X:

SpaceX’s Falcon 9 rocket will deliver 10 satellites to low-Earth orbit for Iridium, a global leader in mobile voice and data satellite communications. The 10 satellites are the first of at least 70 satellites that SpaceX will be launching for Iridium’s next generation global satellite constellation, Iridium NEXT.

SpaceX is targeting launch of Iridium-1 from Space Launch Complex 4E at Vandenberg Air Force Base in California. The instantaneous launch window opens on January 14 at 9:54:39 am PST or 5:54:39 pm UTC. The satellites will begin deployment about an hour after launch.

— Live link removed — See replay post