Almost a Parade


The Chinese space station Tiangong-1 just reentered the atmosphere and any pieces that survived the process ended up in the Pacific Ocean.  Tiangong-1 radar image via fredzone.org

I was having great fun trying to figure out for myself where it was going to reenter. Between my internet problems (resolution delayed until today) and the busyness of N2YO I never got an updated elevation after I came up with my guesses. I get to try again.

It turns out there are THREE more objects heading for reentry by the end of this week. Now I have to say I have heard of anything being able to survive reentry but the possibility does exist for a nice show should it occur overhead at the right time.

First is the Indian rocket body PSLV R/B launched on 04 November 2013.
Predicted reentry time: 03 April 2018 at 22:30 UTC / 18:30 ET.

Track PSLV R/B at N2YO
Track PSLV R/B at SatView

Second is FLOCK 2E-3. The FLOCK series of satellites are about the size of a loaf of bread. Launched on 19/20 November 1998*, FLOCK 2E-3 is predicted to reenter on 04 April 2018 at 23:30 UTC / 19:30 ET

*Most sites list 19 November others 20 November – probably timezone dependent.

Track FLOCK 2E-3 at N2YO
Track FLOCK 2E-3 at SatView

The third is also a FLOCK satellite, the FLOCK 2E-6 set to enter at 14:24 UTC / 10:24 ET.

Track FLOCK 2E-6 at N2YO
Track FLOCK 2E-6 at SatView

Or track it with any of the various tracking websites or most of the planetarium software packages. The nice thing about the software programs is you do not need to be online.

Leave a Reply